DMX CONNECT + : Quick starter manual

Français | English

Quick operation with the CONNECT-ONE

Connecting to CONNECT-ONE


  1. Connect the DMX line to « DMX OUTPUT ».
  2. Power the CONNECT-ONE.
  3. Wait for the « Wireless » indicator to blink.
  4. On the iPad go to Settings > Wi-Fi.
  5. Select the CONNECT-ONE and enter the password on the back of the housing case.
  6. The « Wireless » indicator lights up continuously.

Checking the Art-Net configuration


  1. Launch the DMX CONNECT + application.
  2. From the menu (top left), select « Art-Net Settings ».
  3. Check that « Auto-config. For Exalux CONNECT-ONE « is ticked.
  4. The « DMX » indicator lights up continuously.

Using the DMX Console

The DMX console consists of 512 faders. Each fader corresponds to a DMX channel. Slice 1 corresponds to the address DMX 1, slice 2 to the address DMX 2 and so on up to 512.

Thus a projector set to DMX address 10 and using 3 DMX channels can be controlled using the application via slots 10, 11 and 12.

DMX Channel Shortcuts


  • To browse the 512 DMX channels drag the console from right to left.
  • 2) Shortcuts are available at the bottom left of the application to directly access certain DMX console slots (1, 32, 64, 128, 256, and 384).

Renaming a DMX channel


In order to easily find the match between the DMX console and the projectors, it is possible to rename each fader of the console to give it a particular name (eg « Rock Bright. », « Rock CCT », « Grada 1 « , » Grada 2 « , » ParLed R « , » ParLed G « , » ParLed B « …). To do this, click on the fields at the bottom of the fader.

Using the Master


The Master allows you to change the overall value of all DMX channels. By default, the Master applies to all DMX channels. It is possible to apply it only to certain DMX channels (eg activate the master on the light intensity channels and disable it on the color channels). To activate / deactivate the Master on a channel, click on the small blue « M » at the bottom of the slice.

If the small « M » is blue, then the Master will be applied to the corresponding DMX channel. Otherwise if the small « M » is gray, the Master will have no effect on the channel in question.

Using the Black Out, Full On, and Reset Functions


In the menu at the top left of the application are three functions: Black Out, Full On and Reset.

  • The Black Out function sets all channels to 0.
  • The Full On function sets these values to 255 (100%).
  • The Reset function resets the project to zero. The names and values of channels and scenes will be reset.

Using Scenes

The scenes allow you to remember the state of the console and restore it to « TOPS », set changes or scene changes.

All the scenes are on the top of the application. There are 16 of them.

Recording a scene


To record a scene, press it for 3 seconds. A red circle indicates the status of the recording.

It is thus possible to record several scenes and to recall them with a simple click on them.

The active scene will always appear blinking.

Rename Scenes


By default, each scene has a « Scene 1 » type name. It is possible to rename each scene by clicking on the small field just below it.

Use of Transition Time / Fading time


It is possible to add a transition time when the scenes are recalled. To change the transition time, move the cursor « Scene Fade Time ». The transition time varies between 0ms and 5000ms.

Live mode

The Live mode allows you to present on a single table all the scene memories that have been recorded. This presentation is simple and intuitive. It allows a novice user to change light on a set for example, without any special skill in DMX. Once all of the fixtures are set and recorded in the scenes, you can focus on recalling the scenes while setting the DMX console aside.

Using Live Mode


To access Live mode from the DMX console, click the « Live Mode » button at the top right of the application.

In live mode, it is only possible to recall scenes, change the transition time of the scenes and the global master. Scenes cannot be changed from this mode. This is a security to avoid errors due to misuse of a user who is unfamiliar with the DMX.

To recall the scenes, simply click on them. The active scene then flashes.

Live mode lock


To lock Live mode, click the button with a padlock. The lock locks meaning Live mode is locked.

To unlock the Live mode, the user must recopy a text displayed on the screen (« unlock »). So the user will be aware that it does not necessarily have to unlock the application.

Project management

It happens to work on several projects at once or several on the same project. The project management menu allows you to create multiple projects, rename them, duplicate them and share them with other users.

Create a new project


To create a new project:

  1. Access the project interface through the menu.
  2. Click the « + » button.
  3. Enter the name of the new project.
  4. After validation, the new project is displayed.

To open a created project, click on it.

Duplicate a project


  1. Press and hold the finger on it.
  2. A window is added to the top of the project offering different actions.
  3. Select « Duplicate ».
  4. Enter a name for the duplicate project.
  5. Validate.

The duplicate project appears on the screen.

Renaming a project


  1. Press long on the project.
  2. Select « Rename.
  3. Enter the new name.

Delete a project


  1. Press long on the project
  2. Select « Delete »
  3. After confirmation the project is deleted.

It is not possible to delete the currently running project (surrounded by blue).

Share a project


To share a project with another user:

  1. Press long on the project.
  2. Select « Share ».
  3. A window appears with different options.
  4. Select « AirDrop » to share the project in Bluetooth to another iPad or to a iMac.

If the user to whom the project is shared has the DMX CONNECT + application, it will be offered to open the project.

It is possible to perform a backup of the projects on a mac or to share them with another user who can directly use them from his iPad.

Receiving a project


If another user shares a project with AirDrop, a window will appear on the screen of the iPad that receives it proposing to save this project with a new name and to open it.

It is thus possible to store the projects on a Mac and then to share them in AirDrop to an iPad, or to share them from iPad to iPad.